Starbucks is so good that it’s almost a commodity, but don’t worry because in this article I’m going to tell you how to order almost anything from Starbucks in vegan form — even their smoothies!
Let’s start off with the things you want to avoid
1. Whipped Cream All frapppuccinos come with whipped cream and most flavored lattes come with whipped cream. It’s always safe to say hold the whip.
2. Dairy Milks All drinks besides teas and refreshers come with dairy milk. Always order your drinks with either Soy, Coconut or Almond milk.
3. Caramel Drizzle Note that the caramel drinks themselves aren’t non vegan, only the caramel drizzle topping. This is because the syrup base inside the drink is dairy free while the drizzle topped on the drink is not.
4. Cinnamon Dolce Topping Again, note that the cinnamon dolce latte can be made vegan. The syrup in the drink itself is dairy free, just hold the cinnamon topping and whip.
5. Protein Powder All smoothies come with whole milk and protein powder, replacing that dairy with plant based milk is a must but just don’t forget to hold the protein powder (Made with Milk) later in the article I’ll tell you how to substitute protein powder without even telling a difference!
6. White Mocha No matter how much you customize this drink, it can not be made vegan because the base of the drink (white mocha sauce) contains dairy.
7. Pumpkin Spice As great as it is, there is no possible way to order this vegan. Alike the White Mocha — It’s sauce base contains dairy as well.
8. Java Chips Unlike Starbucks mocha sauce, the chocolate chips they serve contain milk. If you’re looking for a chocolatey coffee fix — Mocha with your choice of plant based milk is the way to go! It still comes with shots of espresso.
9. Pastries There are no vegan options in the pastry case besides plain bagels.
Now that we’ve gone over what to avoid, let’s get to the good part
Lattes To make lattes vegan order with plant based milk and remember to avoid the items above.
Frappuccinos By default all frappuccinos come with dairy milk. Order your frapp with no whip. Avoid Caramel Drizzle, Choco Chips, Pumpkin Spice Topping, Pumpkin Spice Frappuccinos, Cinnamon Dolce Powder and White Mocha. Don’t order your frappuccino light or it will come with dairy.
Smoothies To make your Starbucks smoothie vegan, order with plant based milk of your choice and hold the protein powder. Instead of protein powder — ask for extra ice, either one extra pump mocha OR extra strawberry according to the choice of smoothie ordered.
Undertows Undertows are part of the secret menu at Starbucks. It’s A double shot of espresso in a short cup with two pumps of flavored syrup and in this case, soy almond or coconut milk! Try the afghotto shot instead of espresso for a sweeter taste.
Teas & Refreshers All plain teas and refreshers are vegan by default. Be careful not to confuse flavored tea lattes with hot tea (bags) or iced tea.
Vegan Ready To Eat Items Oatmeal, Fruit Cup, Apple Juice, Nut Mix, Potato Chips, Sweet Potato Chips, Salt & Vinegar Chips, Hippeas Chips, Kale Chips, Thats It Fruit Bars, Bottled “smoothies” and sparkling canned refreshers.
Vegan Ingredients At Starbucks
- Soy, Almond and Coconut milk
- Matcha Powder
- Most Syrups: vanilla, caramel, cinnamon dolce, hazelnut, peppermint and mocha
- Mocha drizzle
- Vanilla bean
- Peppermint topping
- Cinnamon (not dolce) topping
- Refresher and Tea fruit inclusions
Note that the iced chai and chai tea lattes in Starbucks U.S. contain Honey
My Favorite Vegan Drinks
- Matcha soy latte hot or iced
- Chocolate banana smoothie no protein powder with extra ice, double blended and one extra pump of mocha
- Strawberry Acai Refresher with coconut milk
- Mocha frappuccino with soy and no whip
- Caramel frappuccino with soy, no caramel drizzle and no whip
- Iced Carmel macciato with soy and no caramel drizzle
- Cold Milk made with soy and Mocha sauce
- Vanilla Bean frappuccino made with soy, no whip and Mocha Sauce In the Cup
- Peppermint Mocha soy, almond or coconut milk with no whip (yes the chocolate curls are vegan, too!)
- Chestnut Praline your choice of plant based milk and no whip (topping is vegan too)
- Joy Tea
- Holiday Flat White soy, almond or coconut milk
- Hot Chocolate soy, almond or coconut milk with no whip
— Gingerbread Lattes have been discontinued ☹